Tags

, , , ,


In true “whatever is in the kitchen” mode, I was just not in the mood to grocery shop the other day. I had everything I needed for my Pork chops in tomatoes, but I didn’t want the hassle of pulling out (and, of course, cleaning!) the electric skillet. So I raided the cupboards and fridge, and what I found was:

Ingredients:

  • A can of tuna
  • A medium sized avocado
  • Two small green onions
  • Green olives
  • Mayonnaise

1. I cut the avocado into 1/4″ squares while still in the skin, as I do for my guacamole. I carefully scooped the little pieces into a bowl.

2. I opened and drained the can of tuna, and dumped it into the bowl with the avocado.

3. I sliced the green onions, bulbs and stems, into the bowl, and diced about six green olives very small and added them as well.

4. It took about 2 tablespoons of mayonnaise to adhere it all together–you may use more or less to taste (I use as little as possible). I stirred carefully, so as not to completely mash the avocado, and served it on bread as a sandwich.

It was delicious, I ain’t gonna lie–but it wasn’t quite perfect. What would have made this absolutely right? If I had had a couple of large hothouse or heirloom tomatoes and some swiss cheese. I would have hollowed the tomatoes out a bit, filled them with the salad, covered in cheese, and then put them under the broiler for just a couple of minutes on medium and let the cheese melt.

It sounds so good, I may be putting all these things on my grocery list for this week!

