Tags

, , , , ,


Oh yes, you read that correctly. When I was a kid, my mom made great liver and onions. I always liked strong flavors, so this was right up my alley…plus, it didn’t hurt that my dad loved them, and anything he ate, I ate.

There are two things that will guarantee you good liver and onions: proper breading and good beef. This is one of the easiest things in the world to make.

Ingredients:

  • One package of beef liver, 3 or 4 slices
  • One very large white or yellow sweet onion, sliced in large (3/8″) slices
  • Enough olive or canola oil to cover the bottom of the electric skillet* about 1/4″
  • One cup flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Put the oil in the skillet and allow it to begin heating at about 350 degrees.

2. Place the flour, salt and pepper in a shallow bowl. Coat each slice of liver on both sides and place them in the skillet.

3. Brown slightly on each side, and then re-coat with the flour mixture and return to the oil.

4. Once both sides are slightly brown again, add the onion to the skillet. Toss to coat with oil and cover. Allow to cook, turning frequently, until the liver is very brown and the onions are carmelized.

*If you’ve read my blog for any time at all, you may remember I commented in an earlier post that I didn’t have an electric skillet. That has been remedied, and I L-O-V-E cooking in it! However, these recipes can also be made in a stovetop skillet with a good-fitting lid.

