Tags

, , ,


I can honestly say that people the world over have eaten and raved about my guacamole. I am fortunate to have friends from Australia to South Africa and England to Espanola (NM, that is!).

What makes mine different? Well…I don’t do mushy. For years, I couldn’t force guacamole down because it is always mashed into a goo the consistency of baby p…well…you know. So when I saw it done without mashing, I thought to myself–that’s the guac for me! Over the years I have refined the recipe, but it pretty much always includes things that are naturally in my kitchen because I use them for lots of different recipes.

Ingredients:

  • Two large avocados
  • Two roma or small hothouse tomatoes
  • Half of a small onion, chopped
  • One to two small jalapenos, diced
  • Juice of one lime, or to taste
  • One small clove of garlic, pressed
  • Salt to taste

1. Cut the avocado in half and remove the pit. DO NOT remove the meat from the skin just yet–instead, with a knife, cut the avocado into 1/4″ squares from the top, then scoop the squares out whole from the skin.

2. Cut the tomatoes in half and remove the seeds and juiciest bits, so that you’re left with mostly the meaty part of the tomato. Chop it into 1/4″ squares and add them to the avocado. Give it one quick, careful stir.

3. Add the onions and garlic. Give another quick, careful stir.

4. Add the juice of one lime and salt to taste. Stir carefully, like folding ingredients into a cake. You’ll get a little bit of “mush” but the avocado pieces will largely hold their shape–and their flavor! This can be served immediately, but it’s best if you refrigerate it for an hour or two to allow the flavors to combine.

I can eat this with chips all day, but it’s also great on a hamburger or in a taco or even on top of a salad. Enjoy!

By the way…to store guacamole without browning: cover the dish it’s in with a large piece of cellophane. Press the cellophane down all the way to the guacamole, so that it creates a mostly air-proof cover directly against the guac itself, then seal it to the INSIDE of the dish.

