Tags

, ,


In the spirit of Whatever Is In the Kitchen, I’m returning with a recipe I had to make my own. In the grocery store the other day, a 12 oz carton of hummus was $6.50 and I said to myself, “I can make it cheaper.” So I bought a red bell pepper for a buck and a can of garbanzo beans for just a little more than a buck and went home equipped for my delightful dip.Or so I thought.You see, I’ve never made hummus, so I didn’t know that there was a very special ingredient: tahini. Unfortunately, even if I had known, it wouldn’t have been available to me here in the hinterlands, so I offer you my lovely, better-than-storebought, tahini-free hummus.

Ingredients:
  • One can garbanzo beans, partially drained
  • Less than 1/4 cup fresh lemon juice
  • One very large clove of garlic, chopped
  • Pinch of paprika
  • Olive oil
  • Roasted red bell pepper, pine nuts, basil, or other toppings

1. Place the first four ingredients in a blender and begin to pulse together, wiping down the sides frequently.

2. Add olive oil a little bit at a time to help blend the other ingredients and create the proper consistency. Once it reaches the consistency you want, stop adding oil and pulse a few more times to finish combining.

3. Transfer from the blender to a carton and top with your favorite toppings. Serve immediately or after refrigerating, with chips, veggies, bread, or anything else you’d like to dip. It’s better than any hummus I’ve ever bought!

