Tags

, , , ,


Returning from nine days on the road, there was almost nothing in my kitchen. The roomie is away for the weekend, so I’m cooking for one. Figuring out something to eat that wasn’t on the menu for the past week and a half was a high priority this evening!

My cousin sent me home with some smoked kokanee salmon, so I did a google search on what I could make with it. One rather complicated vodka cream sauce caught my eye, but I never go to that much trouble. Instead, here is my simple version of a delicious and filling meal (this recipe is enough for one, but can easily be doubled, tripled or more):

Ingredients:

  • One teaspoon olive oil
  • Three tablespoons onion, diced
  • One garlic clove, pressed
  • Meat of two small smoked fish, boned and torn into small pieces (the flavor is very strong, so you might try halving this amount)
  • One shot vodka
  • One fourth cup milk or cream
  • Pepper to taste (I found the fish salty enough)

1. Place olive oil, onions and garlic in a saute pan (small skillet) and saute until the onions are transparent.

2. Add fish and warm slightly, then add vodka. Cook over medium heat until the vodka cooks down until almost no liquid remains.

3. Add milk and pepper and cook over very low heat stirring almost constantly until the sauce thickens. With this small amount of milk, it took only about 7 minutes. More liquid will take longer. Be careful not to let the milk boil, or it will burn.

4. Toss with a “fat” pasta such as penne or shells, and top with parmesan and fresh chives or tomato if you have it.

Oh my! I’m eating this as I type and I’m going to make it again when the roomie gets home. From start to finish, it took me less than 30 minutes and it tastes like something from a fancy restaurant. Enjoy!

For those who follow me, I will come back with Episode 2 of my Food Sharing series this weekend.

