Tags

, , , , , , , ,


For the past week I’ve been on a literal and metaphoric spiritual journey, three days of which included a wonderful weekend at the Wild Goose Festival in Corvallis, OR. I have all the necessary gear to cook over a camp fire, but don’t own a camp stove, so I “advertised” for help with this dilema an Facebook and connected with another festival goer who had the necessary cooking stuff. (What I did take was my coffee maker and rice cooker! Yep, there was an electrical outlet near the campground)

Part of what made this experience so much fun was sharing food. Since this was simple, basic cooking, I’m not going to couch it in terms of a recipe, per se, but more in regards to the sharing of food and feeding the collective spirit.

What I had:

  • Organic hamburger
  • Roasted green chile
  • Rice
  • Salsa
  • Tortillas
  • Onion
  • Jalapenos from my garden

What they had:

  • Camp stove and cooking equipment
  • Mixed greens
  • Tomato
  • Salad dressing
  • Sesame chips
  • Red wine

What we did:

I browned the hamburger with some salt and pepper while my new pals fixed a salad, cut up the veggies, and got plates ready. I cooked rice in my cooker, then folded in fresh cut salsa–made the perfect “Spanish Rice”. Then we filled tortillas with a little bit of everything, including salad, a whole green chile, taco meat, rice, veggies. We also had salads on the side–fresh greens in the camp site felt like a decadence.

