Tags

, , ,


I got home from nearly a week on the road and found a chunk of banana bread I hadn’t finished before I left town (thanks to my new roomie, I have lots of baked goods these days!). I wondered if I could make bread pudding with it–it was beginning to be a bit stale, but wasn’t molded. So I tried it and I think I have a new favorite treat!

Ingredients

  • Leftover banana bread (I had enough for 16 one inch cubes)
  • Enough butter to put a little dab (1/8th of a pat) on each cube
  • Enough milk to fill the bottom of the casserole dish
  • Raisins
  • One teaspoon vanilla (or more, if you have more banana bread cubes)
  • Cinnamon to taste
  • Brandy to taste

1. Place the cubes of banana bread in the bottom of a casserole in a single layer. It took a small 6″ X 9″ casserole for my 16 cubes.

2. Pour milk around cubes until they are covered to about 1/3 their height. Place a little piece of butter on the top of each cube.  Sprinkle in raisins, cinnamon, vanilla, and brandy.

3. Bake for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. Stir once and put back in for a few minutes until all the liquid is soaked up.

4. Turn the oven to “Broil” for another 5 minutes, or until the top of the pudding is crispy. My small amount made two nice servings. You can even add ice cream–a nice vanilla bean would be perfect. Serve it hot and enjoy!

