Tags


I have been craving a summery margarita, but I didn’t have any limes or limeade in my kitchen. I did, however, have lemon juice. So after some experimentation (quite fun!), I came up with this.

Ingredients:

  • Equal parts simple syrup (half cup water and cup sugar, see below), tequila, and lemon juice
  • Enough ice to make a smooth, creamy drink

1. Bring half a cup of water to a boil. Immediately add a cup of sugar and stir constantly until the sugar is completely dissolved and the syrup is clear. Remove from heat and cool completely before using.

2. For each serving, pour one ounce each of tequila, lemon juice and simple syrup into a blender and add from one half to three fourths cup ice. Blend until very smooth and creamy.

It’s so pretty–it looks like the drink they serve on the train in White Christmas. And I’m so hot today, I welcome something cool.

