Tags

, , , ,


Last year my sister gave me two huge packages of frozen apricots. I found about two cups left in the freezer and started thinking about what I wanted to make with it. I happened to have a medium size pork roast just waiting for something amazing. And I noticed about a cup of Gewurtzraminer left in the bottle. That was the base for a gorgeous meal.

Ingredients:

  • Two to three pound pork roast
  • One tablespoon olive oil
  • Half teaspoon ground sea salt
  • Eighth teaspoon nutmeg
  • Two cups frozen apricots, thawed
  • One cup light white wine (nothing too dry)
  • Dash of ginger
  • Salt and pepper to taste

1. Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. In a small bowl, mix the olive oil, sea salt and nutmeg. Rub the oil and spice mixture onto the outside of the pork roast.

2. Place the roast on a roasting rack if you have one. I don’t, so I coat a medium sized glass casserole with cooking spray and set the roast in that. Place in the oven and roast at 450 for 10 minutes.

3. Reduce the heat to 250 and cook for about an hour and a half.

4. Once the heat has been reduced, place the apricots, wine and ginger in a saucepan over medium heat and slowly bring to a boil, stirring frequently to break the apricots apart. When the mixture boils, add salt and pepper to taste, reduce to lowest heat, and cover. Allow to simmer while the roast cooks. Stir occasionally.

5. Remove the roast from the oven and allow it to rest for about five minutes. Slice the roast on a serving plate and ladle the apricot compote down the center.

This is great served on fresh baby spinach if you have it. Rice works well, too, but is just not as colorful or flavorful. (I’m sorry the pictures didn’t turn out…it wasn’t very pretty, only yummy!)

